How MHA Works

Seven Departments. Three Statutory Boards. One Home Team.

Each has a specific role and responsibility but all share a common mission and vision. All Home Team Departments and agencies work as one with our community, to keep Singapore safe and secure

Refreshed HT Family of logos

How We Work Together

The Home Team works together as one, in close partnership with the community, to keep our Home safe and secure. 
Our Home Team Guardians work round the clock to keep our home and loved ones safe amidst an increasingly complex security environment. The Home Team is constantly innovating to prepare ourselves to respond to security challenges and to strengthen partnerships with the community to keep Singapore safe and secure.

The Home Team comprises 11 agencies:

  • 01 Ministry HQ
  • 07 Departments
  • 03 StatBoards
As one Home Team, we serve with determination, pride and passion, guided always by our core values of Honour and Unity.

Keen to play a part as a Home Team volunteer? Find out more at:
Interested in a career with us? Get more information from our MHA Careers page. 

Our Leaders

Mr K Shanmugam
Minister for Home Affairs & Minister for Law
Mrs Josephine Teo
Minister for Manpower & Second Minister for Home Affairs
Associate Professor Dr Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim 
Associate Professor Dr Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim
Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs & Ministry of National Development
Mr Desmond Tan 
Mr Desmond Tan
Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs & Ministry of Sustainability & the Environment


   MHA Management Team

Mr Pang Kin Keong
Permanent Secretary


Mr Chew Hock Yong
Permanent Secretary (Home Affairs Development)

Mr Chan Tsan
Deputy Secretary
Mr Puah Kok Keong
Deputy Secretary

 Mr T. Raja Kumar
Deputy Secretary
and Training)


Divisions in Ministry of Home Affairs Headquarters

Community Partnership & Communications Group

Finance & Admin Division

Gambling Regulatory Unit

Human Resource Division

Home Team Medical Services

International Cooperation and Partnerships Division

Legal Division
Joint Operations Group
Technology and Logistics Policy

Planning & Organisation

Policy Development Division

Risk Management and
Audit Group
Registry of

Research & Statistics Division
Training and Competency Development Division



Do you know the MHA Story?

Though its days as the centre of homefront security or as the seat of power for the British during colonial times have long past, MHA Headquarters still stands testament to a rich heritage of perseverance and dedication to safeguarding Singapore’s security. The timeline below summarises some of the key milestones of MHA HQ.


The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) was set up when Singapore attained self-governance


Singapore joined the Federation of Malaysia and internal security (or Home Affairs) became a federal responsibility


Singapore gained independence. Home Affairs came under the purview of the Ministry of Interior and Defence (MID) and returned to its Empress Place address


Home Affairs and Defence became separate Ministries. MHA remained at Pearl's Hill


MHA moved to Phoenix Park at Tanglin Road


MHA, together with Police Headquarters, moved to its current premises at New Phoenix Park at 28 Irrawaddy Road


Always Innovating to keep Singapore Safe and Secure

The Home Team is constantly on the look-out for new and better ways to keep Singapore safe and secure. Innovation and new technology allow us to stay relevant and adapt to the ever-changing security landscape and new challenges that come our way.

Back to top