Press Releases

Singapore Police Force Scholarship (SPFS) & Home Team Scholarship Award Ceremony 2018

Published: 14 August 2018

1.     The SPFS & Home Team Scholarship Award Ceremony 2018 was held on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 at the Istana. Minister for Home Affairs and Minister for Law Mr K Shanmugam was the Guest-of-Honour for the ceremony.

2.     The Home Team Scholarships comprise the SPFS, Singapore Merit Scholarship (SMS), Singapore Government Scholarship (SGS), Singapore Government Scholarship (Home Team Science & Technology), Singapore Civil Defence Force Paramedic Scholarship, Local Merit Scholarship (LMS) and Home Team Local Study Awards (HTLSA). These scholarships are awarded yearly to students who have excelled in their studies and co-curricular activities, displayed outstanding leadership qualities and have a keen interest to pursue a career with the Home Team uniformed services. They will pursue studies in a range of disciplines at local and overseas universities.

3.     The SPFS is one of the most prestigious scholarships awarded by the Public Service Commission. This year, the SPFS were awarded to Mr Alden Tan Ming Yang and Mr Stefan Liew Jing Rui. They will undergo training at the SPF Training Command upon completion of their studies.

4.     15 other recipients were also presented the Home Team Scholarships at the ceremony. More information can be found in the factsheet.


factsheet PDF, 403.2 KB, 4 pages